

Private Bag X860, PRETORIA, 0001 – iParioli Office Park, 1166 Park, Hatfield, PRETORIA

Tel: +27 12 427 8000 – Fax +27 12 427 8016 – Email: Media@DCDT.gov.za URL: www.dcdt.gov.za

MEDIA STATEMENT

22 July 2023

MINISTER OF COMMUNICATIONS AND DIGITAL TECHNOLOGIES ANNOUNCES CHANGES TO SITA BOARD

The Minister of Communications and Digital Technologies, Mondli Gungubele announces changes to the Board of Directors of the State Information Technology Agency (SITA) following the departure and resignation of some directors.

The Minister has appointed an interim Board with effect from 21 July 2023, which comprises of the experts in ICT, legal, audit, finance, human capital and governance. "This Board composition combines institutional experience and continuity to bring about strategic focus of government to reposition as SITA pivotal instrument to the digitisation of the state, said Minister Gungubele.

The Board composition is as follows:

- 1. Ms Khathu Sibanda: Ms Sibanda is a seasoned IT professional with over 20 years of experience directing successful technology and business strategy implementation. She holds a Master's degree in Technology Management and has worked for both the private and public sector with vast experience in IT.
- 2. Dr Lucienne Abraham: Dr Abraham has vast experience in areas of digital knowledge economy and ICT policy and regulation. She holds a PHD in

knowledge economies and has served on different Boards, Public Service Commission and various Committees. She brings with a wealth of academic knowledge and applied experience and has previously served on the SITA Board.

- 3. Mr Luvuyo Keyise: Mr Keyise is a multiskilled and experienced IT executive with a Master's degree in Computer Science. He has vast experience in information technology and telecommunication. His experience cut across both public and private sector. He has previously served as an Administrator for SITA.
- 4. Ms Sherylee Moonsamy (CA): Ms Moonsamy is an experienced Chief Financial Officer with a demonstrated history of working in government administration industry. She holds an Honours degree in Accounting and Auditing and an MBA. Sherylee served in the previous Board.
- 5. Ms Nolitha Pietersen (CA): Ms Pietersen is a seasoned Chartered Accountant and has worked for different organisations both public and private. She holds an Honours degree in Accounting and Auditing and an MBA. She serves on different Boards and Committees including the previous SITA Board.
- 6. Mr Kiruben Pillay: Mr Pillay is a management and engineering professional with broad-based experience in mission critical ICT environments. He possesses abilities in strategy formulation and implementation, general management, technology and product management, and operations management. He is a registered professional engineer with the Engineering Council of South Africa and a Senior Member of the South African Institute of Electrical Engineers.
- 7. Ms Lerato Petlele: Ms Petlele is a seasoned Human Capital practitioner with extensive technical expertise and practical experience in recruitment administration, labour relations, organizational development, and talent management. She is associated with the South African Board for People Practices as a Master HR Professional and the Institute of People Management as an Executive Professional. She is registered with the Institute of Board of Directors in South Africa. Ms Petlele holds a Master's Degree in Commerce and a Master's Diploma in Human Resource Management.

8. Mr Mandla Martin Mnisi: Mr Mnisi is a practicing attorney and a Director at

Mncedisi Ndlovu & Sedumedi (MNS Attorneys). He is experienced in providing

legal advisory services to corporate clients, public sector clients, and state-owned

entities. He also serves as Non-Executive Director at Denel SOC Ltd where he

was part of the Board that developed a governance turnaround plan. Mr Mnisi has

a proven track record of carrying out commercial transactions, conducting due

diligence investigations, and restructuring processes.

As the Act requires, the Minister has also appointed the following representatives from

the Department of Public Service and Administration, as well as the National Treasury:

Laura Seme (was also in the previous Board).

Renisha Naidoo

Minister Gungubele welcomed the interim board and wished them well in re-asserting

SITA as the leading expert on ICT matters in government and in changing the realities

of service delivery for our nation. "

MEDIA ENQUIRIES:

DCDT Media Officer: Ms Tlangelani

Cell: 060 886 4670

Email: tmanganyi@dcdt.gov.za

Issued by the Ministry of Communications and Digital Technologies

3